Faculty Council approves new wording for AUCC Curriculum Category 1C


Members of AUCC’s Faculty Council Special Task Force on Category 1C presented new wording for category description, content criteria and student learning outcomes at council meeting of the faculty in May.

The working group had been activated in November 2021 to help define the curriculum and the educational expectations for this category of the curriculum.

Members of the working group presented this item for discussion at a separate special session of Faculty Council on Friday, April 22. May 3.

Questions posed by faculty in this special session focused on the reasons for these changes, clarifications on language, and what content guidelines will look like in the future as educational needs change. Members of the working group clarified the student needs that led to this course change and explained what types of resources would be available to professors creating these courses.

Questions from Faculty Council members included what the grading for these courses would look like, whether courses in different languages ​​would be considered, and explanations of state mandated language. Members of the working group explained the General Transfer Agreement and how this language appears in AUCC’s categories.

Faculty Council approved the changes to AUCC Category 1C as presented.

Members hear update on Academic Blueprint

Linda Dalton and Linda Nagel, who co-led the Academic Master Plan (AMP) process, joined the Faculty Council meeting to provide an update. Nagel provided a brief history of what has been done so far and told members where they can find reports on progress made during the first two phases.

More information can be found on the Academic Master Plan website. Nagel said they are now in phase three, which is developing the plan and refining aspirations and strategies.

Dalton explained to the faculty council members the five aspirations that emerged from the process. She said a report on the plan will be written and will include a discussion of the process, background information, as well as details on aspirations and strategies. Dalton said the advisory committee will work to establish priorities from aspirations and strategies, which will lead to the creation of the implementation framework. Professors were encouraged to go to the website to submit their comments. A member said the submission form did not allow for anonymity, and this was changed and the deadline was extended to Wednesday May 18th.

Provost Pedersen provides updates on campus

Vice President Mary Pedersen provided faculty council members with campus updates. She began her report by announcing the new Distinguished University Professors and Distinguished University Researchers in Education:

  • Debbie Crans, University Professor Emeritus.
  • Temple Grandin, University Professor Emeritus.
  • Kathleen Galvin, University Professor Emeritus.
  • Wes Kenney, Distinguished University Professor.
  • Susan van den Heever, emeritus university professor.
  • Meena Balgopal, Distinguished University Teacher.

Other announcements from Provost Pedersen included:

  • We have three Fulbright scholars who have received grants from the US State Department and the William Fulbright Foreign Scholarship Board: Jenna Biedscheid, Keelan Kenny, and Natalie Montecino.
  • Provost Pedersen announced that the state legislature had approved $38 million for the transformation and expansion of the Clark Building.
  • Candidates for the positions of dean of the College of Veterinary Medicine and Biomedical Sciences and the Warner College of Natural Resources have toured the campus and are expected to complete within a week or two.

Other Faculty Council Highlights

  • Brad Goetz has been announced as this year’s Harry Rosenberg Award winner. Goetz is a professor of landscape architecture and urban design and is currently chair of the university program committee.
  • Faculty Council members have voted to remain virtual for their meetings for the 2022-23 academic year. Some members asked for the possibility of in-person and virtual meetings. More information will come about this next year.
  • Faculty Council approved a motion to remove the 64 credit transfer limit presented by Shawn Archibeque, chair of the Teaching and Learning Committee.
  • Faculty Council approved a motion from the Academic Standards Committee to automatically change all “F” grades during the pandemic semesters (Spring 2020, Fall 2020, Spring 2021, and Summer 2021) to become “U” grades, with the possibility for students to change these marks to “F” on request. Committee Chair Alan Kennan introduced the motion and explained that it would only happen in semesters where S/U grading was already approved and that it would change the method of implementing it.

For the Faculty Council meeting schedule, approved minutes and agendas, lists of members of the Faculty Council and its committees, and other information, visit Faculty Council website.


Comments are closed.