PVM Alumni Recognized by American College of Veterinary Surgeons at Annual Meeting


Friday, October 29, 2021

The American College of Veterinary Surgeons (ACVS) bestowed a prestigious award on a former student of Purdue Veterinary Medicine and elected another to an elite leadership position at the annual business meeting of the ACVS Diplomates held as part of the Virtual Surgery Summit earlier this month. Dr. Karen Cornell (PU DVM ’88, PhD ’98, DACVS) has been elected as the new Chair of the ACVS Board of Directors, and Dr. Ann Johnson (PU DVM ’75, DACVS) has been appointed as the one of two recipients of the Al and Carolyn Schiller Distinguished Service Award.

Dr Karen Cornell

Dr Cornell received his DMV from Purdue University in 1988 and, after working in a private small animal practice, returned to the University to complete a residency in small animal surgery and earn his doctorate in cancer biology. . She is currently on the faculty of Texas A&M University College of Veterinary Medicine and Biomedical Sciences, where she is Associate Dean for the DVM Professional Program and Acting Director of Diversity and Inclusion, as well as the Early and AP Wiley Chair. Endowed Veterinary. Dr Cornell received the Purdue University College of Veterinary Medicine Distinguished Alumna Award in 2009.

The announcement that Dr. Johnson has received the Al and Carolyn Schiller Award for Distinguished Service was made jointly by the ACVS and the ACVS Foundation. Dr. Johnson has been recognized for her commitment to excellence in service and education, as well as for establishing herself as a well-respected small animal surgeon and visionary leader. She was also praised for her impressive track record, which reflects her dedication to ACVS and her contribution to all aspects of its mission.

Dr. Johnson’s service to the ACVS began within two years of being certified by the board of directors as a specialist in veterinary surgery. She was first a member of the Constitution, By-Laws and Protocols Committee, which she later chaired. Dr Johnson also held several roles simultaneously. While fulfilling responsibilities at the Registrar’s Office, she chaired the residency program committee and helped to Veterinary surgery, the official journal of the ACVS, as a member of the editorial review committee.

Portrait of Ann Johnson
Dr Ann Johnson

In addition, Dr. Johnson served as Chair of the Surgical Education Forum and Residents’ Forum before serving on the ACVS Board of Directors as Small Animal Regent, then President and Chairman. During her tenure on the Board of Directors, Dr. Johnson shared her expertise as a member of the Symposium Committee, giving numerous presentations at the CSHA Veterinary Symposia and Surgery Summits, as well as the Relations Committee. public.

Following her role as Chair of the Board of Directors, she was tasked with developing a program model and continued to serve for many years as a residency program facilitator. She has also been recognized as an Honored Mentor by the ACVS Foundation, in recognition of her significant influence on the lives and careers of surgical residents and their colleagues.

Dr Johnson has also served the veterinary profession beyond the ACVS, most notably as a faculty member at the College of Veterinary Medicine at the University of Illinois, where she was a professor of small animal orthopedic surgery. She has also served as the ACVS representative to the American Board of Veterinary Specialties and served on the board of directors of the Western Veterinary Conference, including a term as chair. She received the Purdue University College of Veterinary Medicine Distinguished Alumna Award in 1995.

The other recipient of the Al and Carolyn Schiller Distinguished Service Award is Dr. Cheryl S. Hedlund, DACVS, Emeritus Professor of Surgery at the College of Veterinary Medicine at Iowa State University.

The ACVS was founded in 1965 as a specialist board that sets certification standards for advanced professionalism in veterinary surgery and provides the latest surgical training programs. ACVS now has more than 2,300 diplomats.

Kevin Doerr | [email protected]

Source link


Comments are closed.