UGC Declares 21 Universities as “Fake”; Maximum in Delhi


New Delhi: The University Grants Commission (UGC) on Friday declared 21 universities as “bogus”.

These universities are not qualified to confer a degree, the majority of which are in Delhi, followed by Uttar Pradesh.

“At least 21 self-proclaimed and unrecognized institutions that operate in violation of the UGC law have been declared bogus universities and they are disqualified from conferring degrees,” UGC secretary Rajnish Jain said.

UGC has published a list of 21 fake universities operating in Delhi, Karnataka, Kerala, Maharashtra, West Bengal, UP, Odisha, Pondicherry and Andhra Pradesh.

“Students and the general public are hereby informed that currently 21 unrecognized self-proclaimed institutions that operate in violation of the UGC law have been declared as bogus universities and are not eligible to confer a degree,” said the UGC in an official statement.

Delhi has eight fake universities – All India Institute of Public and Physical Health Sciences; Commercial University Ltd. Daryaganj; United Nations University; Vocational University; ADR-focused legal university; Indian Institute of Science and Engineering; Viswakarma Open University for Self-Employment and Adhyatmik Vishwavidyalaya (Spiritual University).

Uttar Pradesh has seven such universities – Gandhi Hindi Vidyapith, National Electro-Complex Homeopathy University, Netaji Subhash Chandra Bose University (Open University), Bhartiya Shiksha Parishad, according to UGC.

Karnataka, Maharashtra, Pondicherry, Andhra Pradesh, Odisha, West Bengal and Kerala also have fake universities on the list.


Comments are closed.