UGC declares these universities as bogus. Check out the full list here


New Delhi: The University Grants Commission (UGC) declared 24 “self-proclaimed” institutes fake and found two more in violation of standards, Union Education Minister Dharmendra Pradhan said on Monday.

Pradhan made this statement in response to a written question in Lok Sabha.

“Based on complaints received from students, parents, the general public and also through electronic print media, UGC declared 24 self-proclaimed institutes as bogus universities.

In addition, two other institutes, namely Bhartiya Shiksha Parishad, Lucknow, UP and the Indian Institute of Planning and Management (IIPM), Qutub Enclave, New Delhi are also operating in violation of the UGC Act of 1956. The affairs of Bhartiya Shiksha Parishad, Lucknow and IIPM, New Delhi are sub-judicial of the tribunal, “he added.

Uttar Pradesh has the eight highest false universities – Varanaseya Sanskrit Vishwavidyalaya, Varanasi; Mahila Gram Vidyapith, Allahabad; Gandhi Hindi Vidyapith, Allahabad; National University of Electrocomplex Homeopathy, Kanpur; Netaji Subhash Chandra Bose Open University, Aligarh; Uttar Pradesh Vishwavidyalaya, Mathura; Maharana Pratap Shiksha Niketan Vishwavidyalaya, Pratapgarh and Indraprastha Shiksha Parishad, Noida.

Delhi has seven fake universities: Commercial University Ltd, United Nations University, Vocational University, ADR Centric Juridicial University, Indian Institution of Science and Engineering, Vishwakarma Open University for Self Employment and Adhyatmik Vishwavidyalaya (Spiritual University).

Odisha and West Bengal each have two such universities. They are: Indian Institute of Alternative Medicine, Kolkata and Institute of Alternative Medicine and Research, Kolkata as well as Nababharat Shiksha Parishad, Rourkela and North Orissa University of Agriculture and Technology.

Karnataka, Kerala, Maharashtra, Puducherry and Maharashtra each have a bogus university.

They are – Sree Bodhi Academy of Higher Education, Pondicherry; Renowned University of Christ New Testament, Andhra Pradesh; Raja Arab University, Nagpur; St John’s University, Kerala and Badaganvi Sarkar World Open University Education Society, Karnataka.

Elaborating on the measures taken by UGC against bogus or unrecognized universities, Pradhan said that “UGC publishes public notices on the list of bogus universities / institutes in national newspapers in Hindi and English”.

He said: “The commission is writing letters to the Head of State Secretaries, Education Secretaries and Senior Secretaries to take action against universities located within their jurisdiction.”

“Cause and warning notices are issued to unauthorized institutes awarding invalid degrees when a self-proclaimed institution is found or found to be operating in violation of the UGC law of 1956.”

This story was posted from an agency feed with no text editing. Only the title has been changed.

To subscribe to Mint newsletters

* Enter a valid email address

* Thank you for subscribing to our newsletter.

Never miss a story! Stay connected and informed with Mint. Download our app now !!

Source link


Comments are closed.