VOTER GUIDE: Missouri Primary


MISSOURI (KFVS) – Voters in Missouri will return to the polls on Tuesday, August 2 for the Missouri state primary.

Here’s what you need to know about this election:

Polling places

Polling places across the state open at 6 a.m. They close at 7 p.m.

Your county may have changed polling locations. Check your polling place here.

Voter ID

Missouri voter ID law has changed. Show one of the acceptable pieces of identification and sign the poll book to get your ballot:

  • Identification issued by the state of Missouri, a state agency, or a local state election authority
  • Identification issued by the United States government or an agency thereof
  • Identification issued by an institution of higher learning, including a university, college, vocational and technical school, located in the state of Missouri
  • A copy of a current utility bill, bank statement, paycheck, government check, or other government documents showing the elector’s name and address

Office of the Missouri Secretary of State shared information about filing a provisional ballot.

What’s on the ballot:

Missouri U.S. Senate Race

US Senator Roy Blunt announced in March that he would not run again after two terms. His announcement created a crowded field for his successor.

The Republican ballot includes 21 candidates. The top contenders are Missouri Attorney General Eric Schmitt, former Missouri Governor Eric Greitens, Congresswoman Vicky Hartzler and Congressman Billy Long.

The Democratic ballot includes 11 candidates. Favorites include former veteran Lucas Kunce and Anheuser-Busch heiress Trudy Busch Valentine.

Paul Venable is the candidate of the Constitutional Party. Jonathan Dine is the candidate for the Libertarian Party.

Missouri House Dist. No. 8

Congressman Jason Smith takes on Jacob Turner for the Republican nomination.

Randi McCallian is on the Democratic ballot and Jim Higgins with the Libertarian Party is on the third party ballot.

Missouri Listener Race:

Missouri Treasurer Scott Fitzpatrick is running for the Republican nomination for auditor. The Shell Knob native faces St. Louis State Rep. David Gregory. Alan Green is the only Democrat in the race.

Local races

In Stoddard County, Russ Oliver is seeking re-election as district attorney. He faces Sawyer Smith.

In the Scott County ballot, residents will decide on a one-half percent county sales tax.

Ripley County also has a question about the half percent sales tax on the ballot.

The New Madrid County poll includes a question about tax obligations for the city of Portageville regarding its water and sewer system.

Copyright 2022 KFVS. All rights reserved.


Comments are closed.